Late Night Snack for the Pregnant

My lovely and brilliant wife, who is with child as they say, managed to work in three complaints and requests at the same time tonight in one short, direct sentence. She said ” I need to take my vitamins but I’m hungry and its cold.” The  nuances of the seemingly innocent statement are as subtle as a freshman year 3rd seat trumpet player. She needs to be fed both an allotment of food and a regiment of nutritive supplement for the growing Babyishungry (yeah for breast milk, but that is another story, on many levels really. OK , I’ve said too much. I haven’t said enough. That’s me in the corner, that’s me in the spotlight…oh, umm, anyway) Not only does she need these critical supplies, she is dependent upon me to prepare and fetch them for her. Also she is cold and apparently does not know how to “operate” a blanket and/or a quilt ( which is also another story on many levels, some of them quite off kilter really.)

Did I mention that she said this on the phone? And that I was driving around with Mikeiskindofhungryforalittleguy listening to college basketball on the radio? Apparently, this is a veeerrrry important variable in this particular equation. I was never that good at algebra or geometry, but thank god the guy next to me was. Soooooooooo, I made the following for the Missus

Peanut Butter and Honey Sushi with Chia Seeds and Strawberry Preserves, with a Side of Prenatal Vitamins

I rolled out the bread , put some good nut butter on it(hee, hee, i said nut butter), followed by some honey, some Chia seeds( yes THOSE kind of chia seeds..they are remarkable little things that fueled the Aztec warriors…curious? try google, ya lazy git), and some strawberry, all fruit preserves…then i rolled and sliced it and served it up on a bamboo platter with a garnish of folic acid and some other crazy pregnant vitamin things that probably make your burps taste funny. Look at the Pics!!! Love Them!!! Comment! Share! Send Cash, we’re(me, not the kids or missus)

low on Beer Money!!!

7 Comments

Filed under food i've made, pictures, recipes, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Late Night Snack for the Pregnant

  1. Wow that’s *some* take on sushi! Brilliant! I did admit that my eyes almost dropped out of my head when I saw “Jif” on the label of what appears to be foodstuff stuff… in New Zealand “Jif” is a concentrated household cleaner of the “keep-out-of-reach-of-children” type. A few photos down herehttp://www.everydaysupplies.com.au/household.php .
    Then you threw me into a spin by showing me a gadget of the likes I have never seen before… the thingy with a roller at each end… does it have an Offical name pray tell? I’m curious fit to burst. Then came the mention of the sushi contents, I was with you right up until the strawberry preserves got poured into the mix… eek, WITH peanut butter??? seriously?
    This post has almost literally left me with a lot to digest but now you’ll have to excuse me, I have to go (this lazy git has some google to attend to). 🙂

    • strawberry preserves(jelly) and peanut butter ( Jif is the most popular brand..their slogan is “Choosy Moms Choose Jife”)is a very common thing in the states here…its funny to me that it seems strange to you, but then again you guys have vegemite, which i am convinced is an instrument of torture from mid evil times…the two headed mini rolling pin thing has no official name i am aware of but it is darn handy, especially with limited counter space…it rocks for little pastries and the like

      • Vegemite as far as I’m concerned is the blackest of the black sheep of the yeast product family and should not be touched even with a very very very long pole.
        Marmite, it’s higher class cousin however, sings a very different tune for your taste-buds… but to my disgust the recipe they use for Marmite in the UK is not the same as the Real Kiwi Deal… so UK Marmite gets the thumbs down too.
        Kiwi Marmite is brilliant stuff… it rocks! I’m drooling just remembering the stuff, ..or was that over the little pasty roller?, ok that too.
        A peanut butter named Jif… sorry but since life long association with cleaning product springs instantly to mind, it just sounds soooooooooooooo wrong LOL.
        I’ve never tried peanut butter with jam before. I think I’ll think about it first. A very very very long think, (it just doesn’t sound natural)

      • You have never tried peanut butter and jam, aka jelly?!?!?!?!?!?!? In the states, that is like saying you’ve never drank water or breathed air…as a kid, I, and many others I know, almost lived on PB&J’s, as they are known…some folks will throw on a sliced banana instead of the jelly or along with it…my oldest son prefers honey instead of jelly..i still eat at least one or two PB&J’s a week, often time rolling them up in a tortilla

      • Vegemite as far as I’m concerned is the blackest of the black sheep of the yeast product family and should not be touched even with a very very very long pole.
        Marmite, it’s higher class cousin however, sings a very different tune for your taste-buds… but to my disgust the recipe they use for Marmite in the UK is not the same as the Real Kiwi Deal… so UK Marmite gets the thumbs down too. (I only mention UK marmite because it was never available in The Netherlands, maybe recently it’s possible, but it still come from the UK)
        Kiwi Marmite is brilliant stuff… it rocks! I’m drooling just remembering the stuff, ..or was that over the little pasty roller?, ok that too.
        A peanut butter named Jif… sorry but since life long association with cleaning product springs instantly to mind, it just sounds soooooooooooooo wrong LOL.
        I’ve never tried peanut butter with jam before. I think I’ll think about it first. A very very very long think, (it just doesn’t sound natural)

  2. me

    So Mikeiskindofhungryforalittleguy’s better half wasn’t the only one to call last night eh? 😉

    • Mike

      Mikeiskindofhungryforalittleguy’s better half called multiple times…. Some decisions are simply impossible to make on your own.

Leave a Reply

